Creating connections and sharing best practice since 2014

Our Mission

At the Heritage Volunteering Group our mission is to help you unlock the power of volunteering through collaboration and sharing best practice.

Our Values

Passionate and always smiling, we believe that by inspiring collaboration and creating opportunities for people to share ideas that we can help transform volunteering in the heritage sector.

What we do

Through Inspire, our twice yearly networking forum, we help volunteer managers connect and share best practice.

At our Annual Conference we bring together leaders and practitioners from across the sector, providing a national platform for connectivity and sharing new ideas.

Through Twitter, Facebook and Linkedin we connect with thousands of you each day. Whilst our website provides a place for you to access helpful resources, connect with local networks and discover innovative volunteer projects.

Who are we for?

From the natural to the built environment, from volunteer led organisations to national museums, trusts and groups, if you want us, then we want we you.

If you’re looking for a more specific answer, our definition of ‘Heritage’ reflects that of the Heritage Lottery Fund and includes:

  • Land and Natural Heritage Museums
  • Libraries and Archives
  • Buildings and Monuments
  • Cultures and Memories
  • Industrial, Maritime and Transport Community Heritage



There are three levels of membership within HVG: our Executive Committee, our Steering Group and our members.

Executive Committee: Three positions responsible for leading the development of HVG.

Matthew Hick
Science Museum Group
For any media enquiries contact Matt:

Vanessa Theed
Vice Chair
Natural History Museum
For regional network inquiries contact Vanessa:

Ruth Farnan
Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
For all other inquiries contact Ruth:

Steering Group: Up to 30 representatives with responsibility for, or expertise in, volunteer management who support the development of HVG and meet three times annually.

Amanda Hanton
Leicestershire County Council

Ali Thomas
Imperial War Museum

Annie Bethell
English Heritage

Becky Benson
Shropshire Council

Brian Dixon
Aviation Heritage UK

Chloe Keen
National Trust

Chris Smyth
Heritage Railways Association




Claire Haggarty
Lowewood Museum

Debbie Wilson
National Museum of Scotland

Emma Hermon
Canals and Rivers Trust

Emma Faragher-Smith
National Railway Museum

Ffion Davies
National Museum Wales

Kate Glynn
Manchester Museum

Matt Hart
Churches Conservation Trust

Rhiannon Green
Zoological Society of London

Rob Jackson

Shaun Delaney

Tamsin Russell
Museums Association

Will Tregaskes
Cynon Valley Museum



Members: Open to anyone who has an interest in the development of volunteering within the UK Heritage Sector. Members are sent information about events, minutes from the Steering Group meetings and opportunities to join the Steering Group as they arise.

More information about us can be found in our Terms of Reference or if you are interested in becoming a Member you can sign up at Better Impact.